Skip to main content

The Ian Mackinlay Memorial Scholarship recipient: L. T. Vatuvei

The Ian Mackinlay Memorial Scholarship is for a young man who has shown personal excellence in every field of endeavour, whether in the classroom, on the sports field, or in cultural activities. Essential values shown should include honesty, loyalty and integrity as well as strength and determination in tackling challenges.

The recipient should have shown a responsibility to the wider community, showing a combination of individual excellence, commitment to others and pride in being part of a team, and the 2022 recipient is Prefect L. T. Vatuvei.

Luatangi Vatuvei is a highly regarded member of the School community for his humility, thoughtfulness and determination to succeed.

His ability, focus and commitment have enabled him to achieve sound academic results. In 2021, Luatangi produced an 81% average over four Advanced Subsidiary subjects in Cambridge International Examinations.

He has also participated in a broad range of sporting and cultural activities throughout his time at Auckland Grammar School. In 2022, he was a member of the 1st XV Rugby team, was co-leader of the Tongan Cultural Group and a member of Grammar Voices. He has also been a member of the Japanese Animations Club and the Programming Group.

Luatangi was appointed as a 2022 School Prefect and has displayed outstanding leadership skills. He has applied himself cheerfully and energetically to all aspects of School life, is affable and held in high regard by his peers and teachers. 

He is a personable young man with a positive attitude and a strong work ethic. He has been a loyal, proud and significant contributor to Auckland Grammar School. Luatangi Vatuvei has the utmost integrity, has embodied the School’s values and is a worthy recipient of the Ian Mackinlay Memorial Scholarship.