Skip to main content

The Ian Mackinlay Memorial Scholarship recipient: A. K. Baker

The Ian Mackinlay Memorial Scholarship is for a young man who has shown personal excellence in every field of endeavour, whether in the classroom, on the sports field, or in cultural activities. Essential values shown should include honesty, loyalty and integrity as well as strength and determination in tackling challenges.

The recipient should have shown a responsibility to the wider community, showing a combination of individual excellence, commitment to others and pride in being part of a team, and the 2023 recipient is Senior Prefect A. K. Baker.

Angus Baker has earned the right to be described as a highly regarded member of the School community for his tenacity, humility, self-discipline and high level of personal organisation.

His ability, focus and commitment have enabled him to achieve sound academic results. In 2021, Baker produced an 89.75% average over four Advanced Subsidiary (AS) subjects and 90% in A Level Mathematics in the Cambridge International Examinations.

He has also participated in a broad range of extracurricular activities. This year alone these have included the student editor of the Chronicle, the Ethics Olympiad, the Headmaster’s Social Awareness Group, Interact, Model United Nations and Proceres Grammatici.

Angus was appointed as a 2023 Senior Prefect and Head Boy of Tibbs House. In both capacities he has displayed outstanding leadership skills. He has applied himself cheerfully and energetically to all aspects of School life, is affable and held in high regard by his peers and teachers. 

His character approach and performance have seen him awarded the Sir Douglas Meyers Scholarship to study at Gonville and Caius College at Cambridge University in 2024.

Angus is a personable young man with a positive attitude and a strong work ethic. He has been a loyal, proud and significant contributor to Auckland Grammar School.

Angus Baker has the utmost integrity and has embodied the School’s values and he is a worthy recipient of the Ian Mackinlay Memorial Scholarship.