Skip to main content

The Douglas Cup recipient: the Senior A Cycling team

The Douglas Cup is for the best sporting performance of the year – for the best individual performance in any sport whilst representing the School, and the 2022 recipient is the Senior A Cycling team of L. R. Bhimy, F. A. Malpass, D. Morton, O. D. Scarlett and 2022 captain of Cycling, E. W. Pawson.

After an impressive build up to the New Zealand Secondary Schools Championships (winning the Auckland Team Time Trial series and North Island Team Time Trial), the Senior A Team put considerable expectation on their own shoulders to win the marquee Secondary Schools Cycling event for 2022, the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy.

Held in October in Rongotea over a 17km course, the team raced the New Zealand Secondary Schools Team Time Trial in windy conditions on a new road course. 

Racing in the Under 20 division, the Senior A team won in a time of 22 minutes 16.68 seconds to secure the Senior Boys’ National title and the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy.  They were 52 seconds faster than second place, the Grammar Senior B team, and Christchurch Boys’ High School in third place.

This is the 23rd time the School has won the Sir Bernard Fergusson trophy since 1968, with the last time being 2017.

The performance at the New Zealand Secondary Schools Championships from the Senior A make them worthy winners of the Douglas Cup, received by captain E. W. Pawson.