Skip to main content

Report: Tennis Champion of Champions Tournament

After sound performances on the opening day of the Auckland Champion of Champions Tennis Tournament, the School was well-represented in semi-finals and finals on Tuesday 14 March.

In the Junior singles semi-final, Form 3 student L. K. Gibbons fought back after dropping the first set, but narrowly lost the super tiebreak 10-7 against the number two seed from Botany Downs Secondary College.

Form 4 student L. M. Bland put in a dominant display to win his semi-final 6-2, 6-3 against his Sacred Heart College opponent. In the final, Bland won the first set via a tiebreak 7-6. He went on to win the second set 6-3, thus for the second year claimed the Junior Auckland title.

Bland and Gibbons qualified for the Junior doubles final against Saint Kentigern College. The pair won a close tiebreak 9-7 to take the first set 7-6 and comfortably won the second set 6-1 to claim the Junior doubles title.

Form 5 student B. J. M. Archbold qualified for the Intermediate singles semi-final against Botany Downs Secondary College. Despite a very close first set he lost 7-6 6-1.

Alongside fellow Form 5 student H. S. M. Bassett, Archbold qualified for the Intermediate doubles semi-final against Botany Downs Secondary College. They lost the first set 6-1 and while down 5-3 down in the second set, they responded to win 7-5. Through determination, they won the super tiebreak 10-8.

In the final, Archbold and Bassett played Saint Kentigern College losing the first set 6-1, then led the second 5-3 before going to a tiebreak, which they won 7-4. They played well in the super tiebreak to win 10- 4 and with it, the Intermediate doubles title.

The successes in the Junior singles, the Junior doubles and Intermediate doubles led to the School winning the Auckland Champion of Champions Boys’ Tennis Shield for the first time in 10 years.

L. K. Gibbons, L. M. Bland, B. J. M. Archbold and H. S. M. Bassett crossed stage on Wednesday 15 March to receive their medals, the shield and the School’s congratulations. Special thanks must go to Master in Charge R. Daniel for his continued support of the team.