Skip to main content

Report: New Zealand Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships

On Saturday 22 June, 20 members of the Distance Squad members represented the School at the New Zealand Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships in Christchurch.

The course was mostly flat and dry despite the recent inclement weather. After a spacious start, the course quickly narrowed with snaking turns as well as some grassy bumps and hurdles which added to the challenge.

All year groups performed exceptionally well and did themselves proud amongst the high standard of competition. Racing against the nation’s strongest runners, the team won several medals, including two national titles.

In the Junior races, Form 3 student R. C. Davies and Form 4 student E. B. Mora (pictured above) ran strongly to secure top 15 placings.

The day ended with the Senior race led from start to finish by Form 6 student C. P. Wagener. Racing against older athletes, Wagener was named the National Champion for 2024. The Seniors also won the National Title as a three-man team and the Bronze medal in the six-man team after an impressive performance by Wagener, Form 5 students X R. Clark and M. E. Wilkins, Form 6 students Y. C. Chow and S. C. Randerson and Form 7 student R. W. Fitzpatrick.

Special thanks to Master in Charge S. Bidet for his continued support of the Squad.