Skip to main content

Annual School Cross Country

The annual School Cross Country competition was held on Friday 18 March at the Domain in good conditions. The course was dry and allowed for good times over the 3km junior and 4.5km senior races.

The Junior race started with Form 4 student C. P. Wagener taking an early lead, and he maintained a good pace over the 3km undulating course. He secured the win with an outstanding time of 11 minutes 38 seconds.

B. J. Worrall won the Form 3 race produced a remarkable effort. After running in a pack of strong Form 4 runners composed of A. A. Abdul Razack, Y. C. Chan, C. G. Howlett and S. C. Randerson, Worrall was able to break away in the last lap for second place. He finished 15 seconds ahead of Howlett in third place. Worrall, was the only Form 3 student to finish within the top 12.

In the senior race, Form 6 student J. A. Mora started strongly to lead from start to finish, creating a comfortable gap from the first lap until the end of the race, finishing solo with an impressive time of 17 minutes 2 seconds. He was followed by Form 6 student J. E. M. Park, and Form 5 students A. V. Wilkins and R. W. Fitzpatrick.

The three runners competed closely, pushing each other to their limits. Park finished second and Wilkins one second behind to secure third place overall. This was a strong competition amongst Form 5 and 6 athletes.

O. J. Richards took the win for the Form 7 students with a strong performance over the 4.5km course.

B. J. Worrall, C. P. Wagener, A. V. Wilkins, J. A. Mora and O. J. Richards all crossed stage on Wednesday this week as the individual year level winners and received the School’s congratulations.

The Cross Country season formally begins in Term 2 nationally and we look forward to some of these students representing the School.

Particular thanks go to the Masters in Charge of Cross Country and the Distance Squad Mr Sylvain Bidet and Miss Rachel Taylor for their commitment to the sport, including this year’s championship event.