Latest News

2020 Douglas Cup: Senior A Cycling Team

This award is for the best sporting performance of the year - for the best performance in any sport whilst representing the school.

The 2020 recipient is: Senior A Cycling Team

The Senior A Cycling Team have been recognised as winners of the Douglas Cup when they set a new Auckland Record this year during Race 2 of the Auckland Secondary Schools Team Time Trial at Pukekohe.

The Team Time Trial is a road-based race in which teams of cyclist’s race against the clock. The main principle behind a Team Time Trial race, is that riders can ride at the front of the formation slightly above their aerobic threshold while others draft in behind.  All riders rotate throughout the race, with each rider spending approximately 15 seconds at the front of the group before pulling off to sit behind and recover, while the next rider takes over. Riders need to maintain a smooth, steady pace in single formation.

On the 5th July, our Senior A Team, consisting of; D.F Barclay, E.W Pawson, J.S Rackham, O.H Simcock-Smith, C.J Worrall; set out to complete six laps of the Pukekohe track, with the finishing time determined by the time of the fourth-finishing rider in each team. On this day the team clicked, combining both the physical and mental preparation that goes into performing to your best, whilst also ensuring their bike is in pristine working order. Their finishing time of 21:14.72 set a new Auckland record, eclipsing the old record (also held by a previous Grammar Team) by 9 seconds. Given the speed that they are able to generate on their bikes, this is a dominant margin to say the least.

This was a fantastic performance from the Senior A Cycling Team and in doing so makes them worthy winners of the Douglas Cup.

Jacob Rackham Senior Cycling 2020 prizegiving