Latest News

Greater Auckland Basketball Championships

Basketball has had one of its most successful seasons with the Premier Team, Under 17A Team and Junior A Teams all qualifying to play in the Greater Auckland Championships which took place on Thursday last week.

The Premier Team played St Kent's College in the semi-final at Eventfinda Stadium last Friday evening. Despite good support from a small but vocal group, the team suffered a 77-93 loss.

Coached by Old Boy Tane de Silva '06, the Under 17A team made their way to the semi-final by defeating Rosmini College 67-26, Pakuranga College 62-46 and De La Salle College 65-31. Captain O. H. R. Gibson led the team to a convincing victory against Rangitoto College 62-45, in the semi-final.

The final against St Kent's College was a close match all the way through. Solid defensive play from Gibson and Form 5 students C. E. Landon, T. Caldwell and L. A. Vea, combined with precise ball control from D. C. Boyd and J. Liang resulted in a hard fought win 49-48.

The Junior A Team made the journey to the final, with victories over Orewa College (66-36), Pakuranga College (50-27) and Southern Cross School (67-16), as well as Liston College (60-32) in the semi-final.

Under the expert guidance of Head of Sport Mr Dave Mackay and Ms Angela Perrott-Hunt, the team has developed into a well-drilled unit of skilled players. Leading from the front Form 4 students B. K. Manning and J. F. Muggleston, with support from C. R. Brown, set the example that newcomers T. K. Brothers, E. H. S. Chignell, H. H. Clarke, W. J. Shortt, L. J. Simpson, and T. Q. Sun would follow. The final, against St Peter's College , was a fitting test that ended with a 49-38 victory.